Skip to content

Eight Days a Week

25 January, 2011

I feel as if I’m not being very productive as of late… which is too bad. But I have been busy surfing the web and finding lots of great new tools! Twitter has become somewhat of a thing for me, and I’m not sure what a cost-benefit-analysis would reveal regarding my time spent there vs the “stuff” I glean from it. Knowledge is power, so for now I’ll just be content with absorbing new information.

Just so you don’t feel cheated by reading this post, I’ll share some links with you:

http://www.newsmap.jp aggregates news stories and displays the headlines in boxes. The size of the box represents the story’s popularity, and the different shade of the color represents the story’s “freshness” as it were. Stories are color-coded depending on genre, and there are tabs that will filter which stories you want to have represented on the page. You can also filter your news by region and country. Check it out.

http://www.qwiki.com/ is totally not what you might think. Qwiki is a new type of search engine that reads out loud to you. Think back to 1984 and imagine what you thought the future would be like, and Qwiki comes close to that vision. Scarily, it is even reminiscent of George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four and the idea of the information being feed to you while using Qwiki’s site. I do recommend this new website, but the information isn’t as in-depth as could be gained by manual searching. Qwiki does hold true to it’s moniker in that it is a quick dose of info, with pics to boot. Here is my Tweet about the site: @Qwiki Your site reminds me of Neo in The Matrix in how he would “learn” everything by plugging into a computer. Great concept and interface.

Regarding the title to this post, I take it from The Beatles and their song Eight Days a Week. It seems like my Post-A-Week has become a Post-A-Eight-Days… hehehe. Oh well.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tarot permalink
    26 January, 2011 07:55

    Hi Das!

    Great post. And if you’re becoming a tech expert, please check out my post today. I’m stumped.

    Thanks.

    Tarot

    • 26 January, 2011 22:48

      Thanks Tarot. I did check out your post… and I am stumped on that one. Have you cleared your browsers cache?

      • Tarot Reading permalink
        27 January, 2011 20:38

        Yep, tried everything I could think of. But if you read today’s post you’ll see that it was beyond my fixing ability even if it was me who caused it. I had set things up incorrectly to begin with but the nice folks at the WP Support team straightened it out beautifully. I’m very impressed.

        – Tarot

  2. 31 January, 2011 10:05

    Thank you so much for these links, das! Amazing finds and happy you shared. 🙂

    • 10 February, 2011 20:42

      I’m happy that you liked the links Dorothy! (Sorry for the late reply) If I ever get mt sh*t together, I will do some work on the links page here on my blog. I hope the SF weather is being kind to you… its like 0F here right now ;P lol!
      Take Care!

Leave a Reply

