Skip to content

Fringe Season One

2 January, 2011

Woooo Hoooo! I am finally able to watch the most amazing show from its beginning. Having received said show’s boxed set as a Christmas present, I am now able to see how it all began. I am not one to get into a television series, but Fringe is different. It is all based on Science. The show Numb3rs is good, but it is not Fringe. I guess Numb3rs would be close though. The only other show I can remember ever really getting into was Alias, but even that got old after while. Lost was cool, but yeah, too there was too much that was hard to believe. But I never got very involved with any of these shows, and rarely watched regularly. Except for Fringe.

I like realism. I like the truth. If I want fantasy I’ll watch the cartoon Tom and Jerry (a fave)! Sarcastic realism? The Simpsons. And if I want crude humor with a touch of slander there is always Family Guy. But for the truth (and it is real to me even if some of it is hypothetical science), I like Fringe.  I am a firm believer in the power of the mind and Fringe explores that in depth.

Abstract thinking has taken me to some incredible places, so I think I’ll keep at it. The show sometimes provides starting points to further research, but often I find myself just exploring where my mind may go. Sometimes it is profound but sometimes it is boring. Thinking back, having a clearer mind, which has been brought on by sobriety really helps too. I think back to some of my misadventures… and though fun and mind-altering, I think that my all-natural mind-travels are a bit better, and they seem to become enhanced as time progresses. I am viewing sobriety as hacking my mind. I know of its capabilities, now it is time to try and explore them in the hopes of maybe harnessing some of its power. Because really: This is definitely a new adventure for me, at least in the ‘clear headed’ sense.  Now… if only I could check/reduce my caffeine and chocolate consumption… lol.

Keep Exploring!

(I am thinking that a future post should explore Television Shows that I’ve enjoyed…) That would be a great post to read no matter who wrote it I’d say. Maybe even you will write such a post, but that is of course assuming that you are out there reading this and blogging that. Or, it could just be Google’s spiders, diligently indexing this, fulfilling the data needs for the future generations of computerkind. Ramble ramble.

slightly edited for grammar on Mon 3 Jan 2011 @ 17:29 EST

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 January, 2011 05:57

    Cool, sounds like a good show. I’m addicted to TV, but I haven’t yet gotten around to watching Fringe…

    • 2 January, 2011 13:36

      I highly recommend the show, especially if you like science. I have heard it put in the SciFi genre, but to me thats not entirely true since most of what they do on the show is very possible (if even hypothetical). Then again, I might not really understand what the SciFi genre actually entails. Call me crazy, but I think that most anything is possible.

  2. 3 January, 2011 13:48

    Great site! So glad to have found it. Your photography is wonderful, too!

    • 3 January, 2011 13:53

      Thanks so much! I appreciate you taking the time to look. My blog is definitely a work in progress, but watching myself grow as a writer has been such a great thing for me.

  3. 3 January, 2011 15:21

    I’m a box set junkie too, though my tastes aren’t so clearly defined. If it comes in a large box and has 4 episodes I can watch a night for 3 weeks solid, thereby reducing my average sleep time to 35 minutes a day, I’m in!

    • 3 January, 2011 17:08

      I can relate, in a sense, because I had once found an ‘underground’ internet channel that was broadcasting Seinfeld episodes, and another of nothing but The Simpsons. After hooking up the computer to the television, I was consistently getting, on average, 35 minutes of daily sleep for precisely three weeks, lol.

  4. 4 January, 2011 06:33

    You kinda like “Fringe” huh….I liked “Numb3rs” but it just disappeared. So now I have to check out Fringe.

    Nice post

    Regards,
    Doug

    • 4 January, 2011 13:46

      Thank you Doug! Yes, I highly recommend Fringe… but approach it with an open-mind. Thanks for visiting! ~das~

  5. 8 January, 2011 18:01

    Hi, I’ve just come across your site, via the chicken lady, Darkstarburning.

    My son’s into the Fringe big time, so I bought him the Series 1 boxed set. I’ve been watching them with him and now count myself a fan as well.

    Cool site by the way, I’ve only just started this blogging malarky, so it’s interesting to see what’s out here.

    I’d be interested to see what your normal reading matter is…

    • 9 January, 2011 12:27

      Thanks for visiting Tony! The chicken lady (lol) is great, isn’t she? I just finished up with Fringe season one and I can’t wait to see the second. I fear that I may have to rush out and buy it soon because season three airs live in a week or two. Is great to hear from another fan of the show!
      Thanks for the compliment on my blog,who’s randomness displays some of my randomness. My interests are many, but not all.
      As for my reading materials I typically read non-fiction, rarely I’ll read something fiction. Most of what I read is reference materials and I have way too many books. Currently open on my desk are ‘Unknown Quantity, A Real and Imaginary History of Algebra’ by John Derbyshire, and The Modern Library’s ‘The English Philosophers, The Golden Age of English Philosophy’ (both for research). Recently opened were ‘The Art Spirit’ by Robert Henri (which I would highly recommend) and ‘The Letters of Vincent Van Gogh’, among others.
      I buy too many books and don’t have enough time to read them all, which feels like an illness, but my consolation (or excuse, lol) is that I get them used and very reasonably priced.
      Thanks again Tony, and for subscribing also. Cheers! ~das~

Leave a Reply

