Skip to content

Process of Learning

1 January, 2011

I shouldn’t say that I am overwhelmed by all of the options, features and hoopla that WordPress has to offer, because I’m not. But I do know that I have a lot to learn. There is so much that can be done here… the possibilities are endless. I don’t know HTML, and only this summer did I even become aware of Cascading Style Sheets (CSS). All of this Web 2.0 content is pretty exciting, and though I try to consume large quantities of information, I am at a point in my life that I want to contribute at least some minuscule portion back into the interwebs. How I am going to accomplish this is really not yet known, but I can use my love of writing to create and post new work to my various sites. Also, I can (and do) comment and discuss the work of others. Photography has become important to me in my life, so by taking digital photographs and posting them around, I am again contributing to the information superhighway (gasp! what a cliche)!

I believe that in order to have an enriching relationship with the computer-run world that we now live in, one must begin to learn “computer speak”. I am fairly fluent in many aspects of the behind-the-scenes workings of computers and networking, but my college degree included nothing like what we have now.

For the sake of vanity, I am stating here that I will strive to learn something new in this New Year. Maybe I will explore some CSS. I know how HTML works, but I can only work ith it in limited quantities. Maybe I will brush up on the TCP/IP stack and become acquainted with IPv6, which was only a rumor back in 2000. Whatever this new year holds, I would at least like to become fluent and versed in the innerworkings of Word Press. That would be a nice achievement for sure.

Oh! And I forgot what I was going to say again! I want to shout to any and all who might be listening… that “We need to create! Information Overload depends on it! ” (And that is totally going to be a future blog post, where I dig in and present some research that I have yet to do). But I will!

No comments yet

Leave a comment