Skip to content

Oh No! What’s to Become of It?

31 December, 2010

For better or for worse, I have just checked the box that will allow for search engines to index my WordPress blog. Even though what I little I have compiled here on this rambling blog is of no interest, I have always felt insecure in having Google run its fingers through my words. Not anymore! I say, “Scour away!” To the Spiders I taunt: “Catalouge Thee! ” And to all of the potential readers who might stray this way because of it, I say… “Welcome!” I hope you might find something of interest… for I do enjoy sharing… as well as reading the work of others. Whatever is to become of all of this, I just scream “Charge!”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. takearideonthereading permalink
    3 January, 2011 18:49

    Hello (again?)

    You were kind enough to comment to me on my fledgling blog, http://takearideonthereading.wordpress.com. So I thought I’d pop over to see your work too.

    I can’t claim to be an artist. I couldn’t draw a straight line with a ruler. But I know what I like and appreciate art.

    I too am from the world of technology. Checking out some of your entries I can relate to slow internet speeds and the like. (My first modem was the massively fast 300/1200 baud number for the Commodore 64 – but there was precious little to use it with save for a 110 baud telephone test line!)

    Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog. I’ll be back to see what you have to offer too. We’re both in this WordPress challenge so let’s see what we can come up with.

    A quick question though if I may … What button do I press to let Google index my blog please? I’m new to the controls and wasn’t aware of such an option.

    Thanks and happy blogging!

    • 3 January, 2011 20:01

      Hello, and Thanks for reading!
      I will have to check and see what the (I think its a radio-button) that allows for Google to index the blogs. I’ll get back to you on that.

      Fickle (not my first word choice, lol) technology has me bogged down at the moment. Its funny you mention 300/1200 baud, because I was just thinking to myself that it feels like I am operating at below dial-up speeds, but currently my main problem is RAM. I’m browsing with about forty-one open tabs (I multi-task scattershot-style) on a five-year-old laptop and sometimes it feels like I could manually transcribe my words into Hex faster than my randomly unresponsive system is able to accept my keystrokes. Oh well… I’ll get it together soon, by either procuring more RAM or by going back to some flavor Linux (wow there are so many!). Regarding technology though, I only entered the scene around ’99, but I have learned a lot. There is a certain magazine that I enjoy that often does cover some of the older stuff, which I find intriguing.

      Thanks again. Oh, and there seems to be some cross-chatter (lol), so yes, Das (or just das) works just fine for me.

      • takearideonthereading permalink
        11 January, 2011 06:25

        I think I’ll stick with “Das” if that’s okay. Starting with a lower case letter just wouldn’t seem right if both are equal to you. If the artist in you yearns for “das” so be it. But “Das” just carries more respect in my eyes.

        So even though WordPress and our hardware may conspire to throw us back to days before the Commodore 64 at least we you know that once your words do reach the world, they’re well thought of.

        Thanks Das. I’m new enough to blogging that I only caught on to the idea that my email was tied into it somehow. Sorry I missed your replies earlier. It was definitely not meant as any slight. You’re amazing.

        And thanks for linking to my blog. I don’t know what I did to deserve it but I’m humbly flattered.

        Be seeing you!

        “Tarot”

    • 3 January, 2011 20:24

      I think I might have mis-worded this post. What I was refering to was the ability under the Privacy Settings on the WordPress Dashboard to hide the blog from search engines. I’m not sure what the default setting is. There is another function on the Dashboard screen titled “Incoming Links” that says something about Google’s Index Service. I haven’t yet made sense of that, but maybe I’ll check the WP’s Help Files and try to make sense of it.

      I hope this helps answer your question. I am pretty new to the controls myself, so some of it is trial by error… and infinite fiddling.

      • takearideonthereading permalink
        11 January, 2011 06:28

        Sounds like you’re just learning too. But your blogging experience and words belie any newbie status. Thanks for sharing your words and experience Das.

        And sorry I had not yet learned about the “like” button when I first saw your post. I definitely like it and have corrected that error now.

        I’ll be checking for your updates.

        Thanks.

        – Tarot

    • 4 January, 2011 06:35

      I meant to say earlier (in regards to your above comment) that drawing and whatnot does not constitute the constituents of being an artist. I sometimes have a hard time grasping the concept that I might be an artist, but I don’t get into labels much. Writers are very much artists in my opinion. And I’d say that by the way you ‘draw’ some of your words together makes you quite the artist! Your fluid use of linguistic mechanics is artistic by definition, and you have become one of the great artists that I have been so fortunate to come into contact with over the past six months.

      Art is a mindset… an affliction almost. We don’t have much choice in the matter BUT to create. I know from experience that running from it only makes life harder. Embracing our artistic talents is our freedom… our savior, no matter the medium in which they take shape. Art can often save not only ourselves, but occasionally others as well when the artist’s work speaks to the viewer/reader in such a way that the artist could have never imagined. That has happened to me several times in my life now, and it is miraculous and uplifting both.

      Keep on creating my friend.

      • takearideonthereading permalink
        11 January, 2011 06:41

        Hi again,

        I came back today since I just discovered that my email had informed me of your replies here. But I have not been into the email much yet.

        when I came back I saw that you took the time to not only reply to me, but replied three times. Thank you Das. That takes a lot of care and thought. I don’t know what I’ve done to deserv it. But thank you.

        I’ve tried to put thought and care into each reply to you here. But this one I thought was especially well worded. Your thoughts here on art and artists are insightful. It’s a pity if you keep them buried here in your blog’s comment section.

        Have you considered making this the basis of a post? I think your words and insight could inspire others and help clarify the idea of art and artist for many. I know they helped me.

        Truly thank you Das. Please keep writing.

        – Tarot

Leave a Reply

